skip to content


Miguel Martins is among the top 5 best postgraduate supervisors.

18 March 2022

L. Miguel Martins is shortlisted among the top 5 "Postgraduate Research Supervisor" on the Student-Led Teaching Awards (SLTAs) list across Cambridge University and its Colleges. Nominations were based on student recommendations and opinions, Congratulations! Final awards will be announced on the SLTAs ceremony on 11th of...

Read more

Dr Ieuan Walker awarded the Kay Kendall Leukaemia Fund (KKLF) Junior Fellowship

14 December 2021

Dr Ieuan Walker is currently an academic clinical fellow and haematology registrar but will be joining us to study for a PhD in September 2022. Ieuan will be joining the Chapman group to study RNA binding proteins in Myeloma.

Read more

AAAS Science & Human Rights Coalition: 2021 Student Essay Competition Winner!

9 November 2021

We would like to congratulate PhD student Marco Travaglio for winning this year’s American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS): Science and Human Rights Coalition Student Essay Competition! This competition encourages participants to explore the intersections between human rights and science. Marco's essay...

Read more

MRC Toxicology Unit Semi-finalists - Postdoc Business Plan Competition

3 August 2021

Congratulations to Gavin D. Garland and Aristedis Sfakianos who have made it through to the semi-finals of the 2021 Chris Abell Postdoc Business Plan competition! Find more information about the competition, semi-finalists and prizes here:

Read more

Dr Tim Allen awarded the 2020 LUSH Science Prize

12 November 2020

In silico models to predict human molecular initiating events: Congratulations to Dr Tim Allen who has been awarded the 2020 LUSH Science Prize for his research in collaboration with Unilever. More info. 20201029_142027.jpg dsc06230.jpg

Read more

Thaventhiran lab's publication selected as one of the top ten papers of 2019 by the Journal of Experimental Medicine

19 March 2020

The Thaventhiran lab's paper 'Loss of the interleukin-6 receptor causes immunodeficiency, atopy, and abnormal inflammatory responses' has been selected as one of the Top Ten Papers of 2019 by the Journal of Experimental Medicine (JEM). Brief Definitive Report Interleukin-6 receptor deficiency Sarah Spencer; Sevgi Köstel...

Read more

Ritwick Sawarkar receives Alfred Tissières Young Investigator Award

13 March 2020

The MRC Toxicology Unit would like to congratulate Dr Ritwick Sawarkar who recieved The Alfred Tissières Young Investigator Award 2019. This award was established by The Executive Council of the Cell Stress Society International. Dr Sawarkar received the award for his contribution to the heat shock and cellular stress...

Read more

ESTIV Early Career Award granted to Dr. Timothy Allen

20 January 2020

The MRC Toxicology Unit is pleased to announce that Dr Timothy Allen has been granted the first European Society of Toxicology In Vitro (ESTIV) Early Career Award. More information about the ESTIV Early Career Award can be found here:

Read more

Poster Prize - Marco Travaglio

22 May 2019

Marco, a PhD student in the group of Lia Panman, has won a prize for his poster about dopaminergic axon guidance at the DDSSCC meeting held in Crete (13th -15th of May). This prize allows him to attend another course or conference organized by CamBioscience for free.

Read more

Professor Andy Smith gives Barnes Award Lecture at the BTS Annual Congress

29 April 2019

Professor Andy Smith, Head of the Integrative Toxicology Training Partnership (ITTP) at the MRC Toxicology Unit in Leicester, was nominated to deliver the 2019 Barnes Prize Lecture on 16 April at the British Toxicology Society (BTS) Annual Congress in Cambridge. The award was established in memory of Dr John Barnes, a...

Read more